Digital Detox

Some time ago, I was shopping for a new journal. I came across a “digital detox” journal. Imagine – a whole year’s worth of advice and planning about how to take a step back from your digital life. Not the kind of planner I was looking for so I put it back on the shelf and forgot about it. At least, I thought I forgot about it.

But the idea keeps popping into my head. Do I need a digital detox? Maybe. I am probably too attached to my phone and could use a bit of a break from it.

https://www.ekincare.com/blog/others/digital-detox-a-mental-health-reset

Let’s think bigger picture, though. In my school district, we allow, actually, we encourage students from Grade 4 to 12 to bring a device to school every day. This has resulted in all kinds of incredible learning opportunities for both students and teachers. Digital technology, when used in a meaningful, purposeful way can make a real difference to student engagement and give students an opportunity to learn and practice future forward skills.

So, why does digital detox keep jumping into my brain? I think it’s because of the phrase “when used in a meaningful, purposeful way”. What happens when the technology is not being used in a meaningful, purposeful way? What happens when the technology is being used just because it’s there and because kids like it and because they are therefore less likely to behave poorly? What happens when we, as teachers, start sliding down the slope of using digital technology as a pacifier and in-class babysitter?

That’s when it’s time for a digital detox. Time for a reset. Time for a rethink. How and when are we using the technology? What does meaningful use look like? Is the use of technology in our classroom causing less interaction between our students, less face-to-face time or less hands-on play and exploration of learning?

Digital detox. It does not have to be complete, it could be partial. One day a week with no technology or no tech from 10 to 11 every day or no tech during (fill in the blank). What might work in your room or school?

It does not have to be temporal – it could be spatial. No tech in the hallways, at the back counter, while on the couch in the classroom (all places, by the way, where I have recently observed students using technology in a non-meaningful way).

And a detox does not have to be permanent. It is a chance to reflect and be honest with what is happening in our classrooms and why. Are we truly using digital technology in an educationally sound way? I am sure that most of the time we are! But what about when we aren’t?

Every situation is different, so I don’t want to suggest one perfect fix. I mean, look at me! I spend too much time on my phone! What I am suggesting is that we take the time to think about how we are using the devices we have in our rooms. If we are using them as digital babysitters or pacifiers or distractors…or as digital white noise…we owe it to our students to rethink what we are doing. Is there a place or time in our classes where a digital detox might be a good idea?  

Leave a comment