Pocketful of Sunshine!

Since the beginning of the pandemic, my social media feeds have been flooded with all kinds of ideas for making teaching and learning better. I rarely have time to follow the links then and there, so I save them. I tuck them in my “pocket” to look at later. Here then, are a few of the things I’ve stored away in my little “pocket of sunshine”.

Google Meet Translation 

This one is pretty cool! It would be especially helpful for our secondary ELL students in hybrid classes. When you do a Google meet, they can have what you are saying translated for them!

Using Emojis to Organize Google Classroom

Here’s a fun way to organize all of those assignments and materials you are putting into your Google Classroom.

Icebreaker Activities for Socially Distant Situations

Always nice to have some of these in your back pocket, especially for secondary teachers, who will be meeting  new groups of students every ten weeks!

Google Slides Craziness!

Okay, this one is for those hard-core fans of Google Slides – there’s some neat ways to jazz up your slides in here.

Choice Boards on Google Slides

Here’s a great way to give students some choice in what they do to show their learning.

Book Bento

And finally, for those of you who teach English Language Arts, here’s a fun way for students to show what they’ve learned from a story or novel.

I hope you enjoyed these little rays of sunshine!

Leave a comment